Midwest Association of Rail Shippers Elects 2020 Officers

CHICAGO—February 19, 2020 (James Street Media Services)—The Midwest Association of Rail Shippers (MARS) elected its 2020 slate of officers at the annual winter meeting earlier in January.

The 2020 MARS officers are: President Stefan Loeb, Watco Companies, Downers Grove, Illinois; First Vice President Carrie Evans, Iowa Interstate Railroad, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and Second Vice President: Kathy Bathurst, CSX Transportation, Riverdale, Illinois.

An outstanding attendance of more than 880 marked the two-day 2020 Winter Meeting in Lombard, Illinois, where the officers were elected. MARS 2020 Annual Summer Meeting will be held July 20-21 at the Grand Geneva Resort, Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. Information is available at www.mwrailshippers.com/event/2020-summer-meeting.  





New MARS President Stefan Loeb, left, is congratulated
by outgoing president Tom Surma, who was honored for
his leadership at the 2020 Winter Meeting in January.



The Midwest Association of Rail Shippers (MARS) is one of five regional North American associations under the North American Rail Shippers (NARS) national organization. Headquartered in the Chicago area, MARS provides an open forum for discussion and resolution of rail transportation issues by bringing railroads, shippers, receivers, and rail supply companies together twice annually for formal meetings in the Chicago area. To review the most recent meeting presentations, and to inquire about MARS membership, please visit the MARS website at www.mwrailshippers.com


Bill Fahrenwald

James Street Associates